Golf GTI or Focus ST-3?

bucki3

Hi all, newbie here! Been lurking in the forum for a while and think its great!

I'm coming into a bit of a problem - the better half has allowed me to get a new car but i cant decide between the golf GTI and ST3!

I want a good driving experiance but to be comfy on long journeys - i do approx 15k miles a year and i know the ST can be a bit heavy on the old juice in comparison to the GTI but its not putting me off!

The differance in price is not really an issue, but is the GTI worth the extra money? ie lesser spec for more money? What are your opinions guys - what would you buy having had a GTI for some time?

With the discount dealers are offering just now it seems a great buy! I'd be looking at a candy white 3 door manual, xenons, 18" Monzas, winter pack, cruise, 6 disc plus soundpack and possibly doing a revo remap?

Arrgghh - all too much!! confused.gif

Your help is much appreciated gents! beerchug.gif

I know thr GTI IS the better car, better quality, refinement and for second hand value but its that little demon on my shoulder that is egging me on to get the ST, that boy trying to get out from inside. If i could get the GTI to make the same noise as the ST it would be a no brainer....... How do the Milteks cat back sound on the GTI? I dont want too intrusive on the cabin, just to know its there - like the ST!

Well, clearly you will get a biased view in a Golf GTI sub forum.

It's a very personal view but I prefer the character of the ST to that of the GTI. (Having thus far driven neither I should add).

Doing 15k a year there will be times you just want a car that's easy to live with and reasonably economical just cruising - the Golf does that better.

But the ST excels when you want to have a B road thrash and you hear that snap, crackle pop of the exhaust.