530i Auto vs 535d

punas

Hi,

I am considering changing my car to an E60 5 series and have narrowed it down to a 530i Auto or 535d.

I would love to hear people's thoughts on the differences between these two cars. For the sake of this discussion, let's discount the financial factors such as purchase price, fuel and depreciation. I'd like to focus on performance, handling and general feelings.

I admit that I haven't had test drives yet, but most of us here love to do months of research up front. I have owned a 325i manual before, so I have a good idea of how creamy smooth the straight six would be in the 530i. I have no experience of deisels but am well aware of how good the 525d, 530d and 535d are, but how do they sound and feel? Once up and running I think they probably sound great but I have a big worry about how they sound & feel when you first turn the key - I know the 530i does well in this department.

My A4 2.0T has an engine that performs really well, but when you first turn the key the engine is in no way exiting, nor does it sound good once extended. I have realised that, for me, you can have plenty of performance but if it isn't delivered aurally & feelinigly (sic) then you lose a lot of interest.

So what do people think? Good feelings from a 530i against big midrange in the 535d - or aren't they comparable?

Hi Punas,

These two models really can't be compared as they perform very differently.

If your just after 'that' creamy smooth sound you get from the x30i engine, then you can't get much better... but performance wise, the 535d is in another league.

I love the 3.0l petrol BM engine, it sounds and goes incredible well (esp. in our 1 series), but the 535d I had would walk all over the 130i in a straight line, it doesn't really sound like a diesel unless your in a multistory car park (where the petrol sounds lovely).