heater problems

golfref

I have a 2001 1.9tdi pd engine code awx. The heater blows cold when driven over 2500rpm. It is fine up to this engine speed and will blow hot again after a few mins driven at lower revs. Also there is a water loss of about a pint every 100mls.

So far I have changed the water pump, theremostat, flushed the engine coolant including the heater matrix.

I have carried out a pressure test of the cooling system, it holds 10lb sq inch for hours with no drop in pressure. If the car is left for about 12 hrs and then the pressure cap is undone there is still a little pressure in the system.

I am a motor mechanic with over 40 yrs experience and this is driving me mad because it is my wifes car! So you can imagine the amount of earache I am getting.

I am now :ffs: .

Anyone got any ideas?

Golfref

Ive plenty of experience my friend and im afraid to say you will need to change the head gasket.......had it on a few of this age now. They do pressurize the system and will help you lose a bit of coolant due to expansion when pressure gets too much it will release it via steam at the cap, of which it is designed to do but will burn some of it as well as combustion gasses are in the coolant circuit. What does the top of your expansion tank look like?????

Tidydubs, thanks for getting back to me. The expansion bottle is perfectly clean, no signs of oil or fuel. Also no sign of water in the sump. If I put the pressure tester on and let her run it takes about 1/2 hr for the pressure to build to 3-4 Lbs. I have also carried out a cylinder leakage check. So I can see no signs of the H/gskt being at fault. Having said that I work on all makes and models, we being a general garage come MOT center. I don't pretend to be expert on any particular make. So if someone has come across this very problem then I am most willing to go along with it.

Golfref