Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
gordie1973

Mk 5 R32 Misfire / Engine warning light

9 posts in this topic

Hi All,

The heading really says it all really - car started no problem, then it felt lumpy, almost a slight rocking sensation and just felt horrible to drive. Within a couple of miles the engine warning light came on (the one on the rev counter - Exhaust fault? ), so I took it easy and brought her home. It also smelt a bit eggie when I parked up..... tried to lift the bonnet but, just my luck..... the catch didnt work.......

Am going to bring it to a local independent tomorrow to have a look at it - Am a total novice when it comes to the mechanics of a car, so am asking your expert opinions on probable faults - more so I can look a bit less of a div at the garage tomorrow.

Finally also - should I drive it the 1 mile to the garage or have it towed?

As always any advice you can give is appreciated.....Thanks, Gordon

Thanks Twinspark, seem if it is a recall car you could have saved me a few hundred quid! (Will buy you a drink one day.......!)

Will phone VW tomorrow and see what they say, following the instructions on the link.

Cheers,

Gordon

As above, it will most definitely be a coilpack failure.

I still find it hard to believe that there are owners out there that are not aware of the coilpack service bulletin as it has been publicised on almost every car orientated forum since it was anounced in February 2011.

Thanks all, car was on the recall list - so booked in next week for the fix!