282 bhp!!

RedRobin

Hi guys....it was Milltek who told me about it so I guess it probably is with their Hi-flow system. Wouldn't make much sense not to use a good sports exhaust system. I haven't checked the REVO web site - am a bit busy doing other stuff as well as posting here!

Anyone considering such a big hike would probably be thinking of suspension and brake mods too but I'm told that the GTI is supplied with plenty of 'headroom' by VW because they have to suit regulations in different countries. I'm no expert in such matters.

I also learnt today that 17s are very efficient and tuning doesn't mean you need bigger wheels. Milltek's 19s on their tuned GTI are purely for aesthetic reasons.

Yeah LeMan....I can easily chirp my tyres at only 210 bhp.

Hi Barry - My thoughts are the same as yours. Each car will be different but Milltek reckon 208-210 bhp on Cat-backs and 215-220 bhp on their Turbo-back Hi-flow. The Turbo-back will enable a faster spool up if I've understood it correctly.

My original post was more of a 'Wow!-Look-What-They've-Done-Now!' heads up rather than one of my enthusiastic recommendations.

Anyone who ops to have 280hp, up from 200hp, and doesn't uprate the brakes and suspension needs their head looking at.

The R32 has masive brakes, admitedly it weights a bit more, but even so many have uprated the R32 brakes when a power hike was introduced.

280hp is going to make a hell of a lot of difference to the way the car drives, how fast it goes (obviously), and also the kinds of forces that will be put through the suspension, tyres, bushes, etc.

280hp upgrade and nothing else uprated at the same time is typical of people who know nothing about cars and olny want more power cos they want to be better than the next guy!

That said I'd still like to have a go in one and see what its like...... will be super quick on the over-take smile.gif169144-ok.gif