17s or 18s

selwynf

hi, i'm a newbie... I'm flogging my Focus RS to get myself a GTi five door (bit more practicality). one thing i simply CAN NOT get my head round is whether to go for the 17s or the 18s. I can't get a test drive (i'm in Gibraltar) and don't know what they do to ride quality. They're both going to be better than the RS, I know that, but i haven't got a clue.

Please help.

thanks

slap.gif

• Replies 186
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

[ QUOTE ]

one thing i simply CAN NOT get my head round is whether to go for the 17s or the 18s

[/ QUOTE ]

Don't even think about it, for £445, the 18"s make the GTI and are an absolute work of art up close (forged and polished alluminium)

Food for thought... The 18" monzas cost over £2500 to fit afterwards EEK2.GIF so they're a bargain to say the least IMO.

PS: I can't think of a more frustrating place to to own a GTI than Gib!!! crazy.gif

[ QUOTE ]

hi, i'm a newbie... I'm flogging my Focus RS to get myself a GTi five door (bit more practicality). one thing i simply CAN NOT get my head round is whether to go for the 17s or the 18s. I can't get a test drive (i'm in Gibraltar) and don't know what they do to ride quality. They're both going to be better than the RS, I know that, but i haven't got a clue.

Please help.

thanks

slap.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

Can't you pop over to Malaga or Marbella for a test?

I decided to go for 17s for greater ride quality and less road noise (however small). Also, repairing the 17s will be much easier, although hopefully I won't have to!

18s do look the business, but I'm not convinced they fit with the subtle GTI image though. If you have a budget, I'd personally recommend putting the money elsewhere. How about the Xenons?