lowering springs

gregmaddocks

A 60 mm drop will obviously give the car a much lower ride, 25-35mm is the norm.They will not make the car handle any better without matched dampers( shockers), and you will have loads of trouble with sleeping policemen!!!

BTW the quoted 55-60mm drop is over a standard golf( i think) and the GTIs were 15mm lower,so the drop would probably be about 40mm.

I'm by no means an expert on this subject of lowering but I would def consider Anti-roll Bars and stiffer springs and shocks. I think it's a matter of achieving the right mix and balance of these suspension components and not a matter of just one feature in isolation. It's also a question of what is practical for the type of roads you generally use.

Btw, lower your driver's seat position to lowest poss - It all helps.

[ QUOTE ]

I beg to differ of course itll handle better, lower centre of gravity, harder spring??

[/ QUOTE ]

Not true mate. People think that lower springs = better handling, but this is not always the case. It's the same as exhausts, too restrictive and you lose power, too free and you'll lose power. Tuning is a comprimise.

Remember that stiff springs can make a car very twitchy and over rough terrain make the car lose grip and actually handle worse. I personally think a 60mm drop would be too much on a Golf. Also remember that you'll need to match dampers to the car, unless you want to wear your dampers out very quickly. Also, imho, a change of dampers actually has a greater effect on the handling of the car!

Whatever, it's your car mate and you certainly won't ruin it by putting those springs on, however be warned about the shocks wearing out and don't expect an increase in handling.

Hi there mk4golfgti,

Welcome to TSN, 169144-ok.gif

[ QUOTE ]