Keyless Remote program / instructions/ recode

kbaumg

Bought a used remote for my 1997 A8. In decent shape, for $20. Not the switchblade kind.

Took it to the dealer in Northern VA. Said it costs $100 to program any remotes. Said that if I disconnected the battery EVER, that all of the remotes would have to be re-programmed and that the car would not work until the car was brought into the dealer. that the entire car had to be re-programmed.

I am new to the world of Audi.

Is this stuff true? Anyone out there know how to re-program the remotes without going to dealer.

Said a new battery for the car would cost $350? What!!! It is an A8, but come on!

Does anyone on this forum know of locksmiths that can laser cut an Audi key? Surely someone other than Audi themselves can cut their keys.

Welcome to the forum! beerchug.gif

My dealer re-programmed my (switchblade) keys for free...

But maybe they charged you because of it being a used remote or something... confused.gif

You also have to reprogram the remote when you change the batteries (in the remote), at least thats the case with mine (which you can do yourself). Reprogramming the entire car after a battery failure seems a bit overstated IMO, but it might be neccesary to reset the computer (diagnosis). This takes very little time and effort, IIRC they charged me €45,- for that and some other minor things.

Anyway, programming the remote should be rather easy IMO. Can't recall the correct procedure off hand, but there is a chapter about it in the manual. Also there is some stuff here on the forum about programming Audi keys/remotes. So I suggest you do a quick search (see above).

If you have no manual and you can't find anything, let me know, I'll go get the manual from my car. (That's a post facelift S8 though, so I hope that's any good).

Maybe one of the others can give you the proper instructions right away...

As for the car battery, check out www.autobatteries.com f.i. to compare makes and prices.