The old tuning ways

paulhardwell

Just wondering just how many members and the oldies can remember just how we used to tune the engines, new filters,points plugs, distributor cap, maybe even a sun crypton tune if you could afford it, now them times have passed and its all plug and play with the obd port, wow the storys that could be told about our old ways, and the horid storys which can be told about the new ways, and the mess of the ecu that some tuners can cause,( oops ) not any of these tuners on this forum they seem great as im looking around, but a few storys about the young ones,well best be off now got to spend a few £££££££ on some tyres,,,,oh yes before i go,,im new to this hi everyone +++ hope to chat, learn and tell some storys, and if possible help others out:D

In terms of performance tuning (the old fashioned way), the most modded car I had back in the day was an AlfaSud Ti Cloverleaf, the mods included-

1.7 block from alfa 33 (replacing 1.5 original block).

16v big valve heads.

Pocketed pistons (required to stop piston and valve meeting).

All lightened and balanced, crank etc.

Auto Delta cams & valve gear, uprated valve springs.

Flowed ported and polished.

2 Twin Weber Carbs (38's i think, seem to recall trying 40's and not being very successful).

Replaced Magneti Marrelli electronics for Lucas (I think it was that way around, much better spark anyway, and a lot more reliable).

No air filters, yes you read that right, ran it without air filters, sounded amazing, never caused any probs.

Bespoke exhaust.

Outboard disc brakes (& hubs etc) from Alfa 33, replacing original inboard front discs, with uprated pads (dunno who's bright idea inboard discs were, great for unsprung weight, sh1t for stopping).

Home made quick shift kit (not home made be me I hasten to add).

Koni adjustable shocks and springs.

Teledial alloys (think they were 15" which was big at the time)