Windows 8

Mac

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not a techie but we have just completed a build for a rather large PC manufacturer's laptops and the guys that are techies were sort of bemused by it I think. I gather there are no common components between Metro and Desktop meaning double development. I think the desktop was referred to as a sort of Vista equivilent in their view of the uptake and feeling by the public.

As I said, I'm not a techie,so they might have said something entirely different which I heard as the above ...

Interesting, i've got a media centre which is about 6 years old now, it runs windows 7 ok (Was originally Win XP MCE 2005) but have a few issues with TV tuners and the like, I wonder if it's worth borrowing a disk from work and upgrading it?

We've installed it on one of the bosses laptops this week but haven't really had a look at it yet, i'll go and take a peek later +++

• 1 month later...

Windows 8 Pro – available to download from 26th October for only £24.99 (Pre-order by October 24th and get free shipping.* Starting October 26th, you'll also have the option to download it for £24.99)

Microsoft Store Online Store - Welcome Topcashback...Microsoft Store: Microsoft Software Purchase 15.15%

The upgrade can also be purchased for £14.99 if you got a Windows 7 PC between June 2012 and end of Jan 2013. Don't be clicking this link and pretending that you've only just purchased your computer as that would be naughty (and theft!).

Remember, if you are a student / teacher then your uni may be part of the Dreamspark program and you might be able to get this and a lot of other MS stuff for free anyway.

I'm running a full version of Windows (not an upgrade) and I don't like the idea of 'losing' it by upgrading to W8. (I'd pass it down to an older laptop/PC still running XP/Vista.) I was thinking I might wait and see how much a full version of W8 is. But £24.99 exc TCB is very appealing.