Jump to content

BBC 2014 F1 Coverage


Recommended Posts

Allan McNish completes BBC’s F1 team for 2014 along with Suzi Perry, David Coulthard, Eddie Jordan, Ben Edwards, James Allen, Lee McKenzie, Tom Clarkson and Jennie Gow. 



Eddie Jordan, chief analyst and David Coulthard, co-commentator and expert pundit both return and, after her first season at the helm in 2013, Suzi Perry resumes her duties as TV anchor for 2014.


Ben Edwards once again leads the commentary on TV with Lee McKenzie and Tom Clarkson bringing all the news from the pit lane.

On Radio 5 live, James Allen leads the coverage as F1 correspondent and commentator with Jennie Gow as F1 presenter and pit lane reporter.


BBC One and BBC One HD will show nine races live on TV, including Silverstone, Canada, Monza and Spa, as well as the season finale from Abu Dhabi, with extended highlights programmes of the remaining races. This goes the same for practice and qualifying.

Every Grand Prix of the season will be live on Radio 5 live or 5 live sports extra with live coverage of practice and qualifying - plus all the action, news, reviews via the BBC Sport App

and the BBC Sport Website, with Andrew Benson as Chief F1 writer.



More: http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/latestnews/2014/bbc-f1-2014-presenter-line-up.html

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Biggest loss by far and not mentioned in those is that they have dropped Gary Anderson who was fantastic to my eyes and gave a fantastic insight on what was really happening sometimes that even the drivers missed. If people want to get that insight now he is writing for Autosport. +++

Couldn't agree more, he added.so much to the coverage.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Now that the FIA has confirmed start times for all 19 races we should be getting the TV schedules soon.
The Bahrain Grand Prix, the first to ever be run at dusk, has been allocated a starting time of 6pm (3pm GMT) which will see the race begin under sunlight and end in darkness. It joins Abu Dhabi as the only other 'dusk' race, whilst Singapore remains the only all-night race with a start time of 8pm (12pm GMT). The Austrian GP will begin at the usual European race time of 2pm (12pm GMT), whilst the second addition to the 2014 calendar, the Russian GP, begins at 3pm (11am GMT).

Note: Clocks go forward an hour on March 30th, and therefore races after that date, but before October 26th, start an hour later than the GMT time shown.




The BBC's deal to broadcast F1 runs up to and including the 2018 season.

The list of races to be televised live on the BBC in 2014 is as follows:

30 March: Malaysia

11 May: Spain

8 June: Canada

6 July: Britain

24 August: Belgium

7 September: Italy

5 October: Japan

12 October: Russia

23 November: Abu Dhabi

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sky cover all, the BEEB just get what Sky tell them they can have.


Although it was mooted when the BEEB dropped to SOME coverage that it was on the understanding that they get the first, the last Monaco & British, although obviously that never quite worked out  they do always cover the British.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...