Are us yanks really missing out on anything?

SlickDizzy

As an American, I've always loved TVR's. But TVR stopped exporting here in the 1980's. I lust for a T350T or Tuscan or even a Sagaris, but I've heard they're made out of cheap plastic things that break easily. I've heard news of TVR possibly beginning export here towards the end of next year.

Is this something to look forward to, or not? Us Americans haven't experienced a TVR since the wedge.

• 2 weeks later...

Yeah I think you Yanks will love TVR. I've also read that they want to start exporting to the USA again. I've had very little first hand experience of TVR reliability, but that's beside the point. You want one because, and I Quote

[ QUOTE ]

Big power, big noise, handling, style and individuality.

[/ QUOTE ]

If they do send them your way sell your New Mustang! (Not if it's an old one though!)

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 5 months later...

You will never get the (excellent) tuscan because of the angle of windcreen (thats "windshield" to you yanky chaps), and I am sure that the lack of safety stuff (abs, airbags etc), will deter all but the most devout of US buyers from buying TVR. The reliability is not up to Toyota standards, but hey, who wants to drive a Prius ? TVR is the epitome of British style, everyone should have one, look at the interior, power, aaaah, I could go on ... Mrs Duisberg Kid and 3 kids are not fans though ....

• 4 months later...

TVR did pick up a bad reputation for reliability, however in my experience (owned a griff 500 for 3.5 years only problem was a split rad hose) if you look after them and run them regularly they are as reliable as anything else, in fact after coming back from holiday (vacation) one time I had to jump start our VW off the TVR.

With regards to build and materials, you have to remember TVR are low volume cars, so interiors are hand made, however the design is stunning.