Opinions / advise please - cameras

Smudge

I'm no expert, but I am a keen wannabe photographer. At the moment I only have my old Canon SLR, which I rarely use now, or my Samsung digital camera, which takes a great pic, but can be very limiting at times.

The GF has suggested getting me something a little more advanced for a Christmas present. I was looking at the Fuji Finepix S5500.

Prices have dropped so much that this camera replaced one I was orignally looking at, but it was around £450 at the begining of the year.

It seems to have all I want, I just wondered if anyone has an alternative that they would recomend?

Cheers

Al.

Funny you should mention that camera, cos I have it, and some pics taken with it can be found on my fotopic site (link below). It's an amazing camera, does everything you want, and as you can see, the quality is stunning. Option to do alomost everything manually, or automatic, depending on your preference. 7dayshop.co.uk Linky are doing it for £220!

Thanks for the advice guys & gals, but to be honest the S5500 is pretty much the max price wise at the mo. Which means the SLR lenses would be pretty much redundant.

The other thing that I see as a possible draw back is the flash (from what I can see it's limited to about 4m) which is built in. There doesn't appear to be a cradle for a bigger / better unit. Dr P, any comments re this?

Cheers

Al.

[ QUOTE ]

Bear in mind the altered focal length of your old lenses if you switch to a digital SLR.

[/ QUOTE ]

Errr... Colin, the focal length doesn't change, just because the image sensor is smaller than a 35mm frame - it's the angle of view which changes!

But yes, with the common digital sensors, the angle of view reduces by a factor of 1.6 compared to a 35mm frame, giving the impression of greater magnification.

Hence my 150 - 500mm zoom is like using a 240 - 800mm zoom! smile.gif