Water in the rear passenger side footwell

johnpcoleman

Hi,

Recently water has been gathering in the rear passenger side footwell of my 99 passat saloon. Also, I've been having to top up the engine water about once a week, and there is a minging smell whenever I turn on the heater. The front passanger has noticed drips on his foot now and again.

Obviously all of this is related, I'd really appreciate if anyone could let me know the likely diagnosis, how much it is likely to cost, etc.

Much appreciated.

I'm no expert but it sounds like a leaking pipe on the aircon. That would explain the minging smell and water in the footwell.

As far as topping up the cooling water reservoir, that is a totally separate thing to the air con so it sounds like another problem. Have you checked the engine bay for leaks and also checked the oil filler cap for creamy white sludge which would indicate the head gasket has blown?

Edit - ah, just realised you said rear footwell - it may not be the aircon then smashfreakB.gif

Baggles

There are two possibilities A and B:

A The first is that you have two separate problems. One is a leak in the cooling system of the engine. Does the car puff out clouds of steam when pulling away? You may need someone to look round the back whilst you rev the engine. If so the leak is probably a cylinder head gasket failing and should be fixed without delay. The second problem is that a drain hole is blocked beneath the battery and water has collected and leaked past a duff seal around your pollen filter. Have a look at other soggy carpet threads for more info on that - very common on passats.