Advice wanted! Which Tires are best for S8?

Sven

Hi Everybody,

I just acquired an S8 ('01) grin.gif and have made the deal it will be delivered with 4 new tires, for which I have to pay half-price. The present tires are basically okay, but not great, therefore the dealer has made this deal. (Weird sentence...) crazy.gif

Anyway, I'm not sure which tires to choose. I have seen the new Vredestein Ultrac, they look cool, and tests seem to bee good too, but I have no experience with Vredestein and it is only shortly since they supply (upmarket) performance tyres. Price is okay as well. Treadwear is a question mark for me, since these tires are just new on the market.

Dunlop SP9000 has been recommended by the dealer, the tyres seem okay, good looking (not as good as the Ultrac though), and it has won some tests I think. Plus it has Y speed mark (300KM/H), while Ultrac has W (270KM/H). Treadwear is supposedly good.

Conti SportContact 2 is said to be very good, but also significantly more expensive. (and it looks a bit...ehh.. dull?) UHOH7.GIF

Who has experience with these tires on the S8 and can give me some good advice? (asap please, dealer is awaiting my call) wink.gif

Many thanks! cool.gif

Toyo T1-S is a handsome tyre! Also available in 245/45 18. What I don't understand is why the speedmark differs with size. The size I need is 'W' while 235 and 255 are 'Y'.

As long as the electronic limiter is active that's no problem, but I'm pondering on a Chiptuning. In that case the limiter will be deactivated as well. Then a 'Y' mark tyre may become relevant. (Thus far that means the SP9000 will have an advantage).

Blackcircle won't do for me I guess, since I'm on the continent. wink.gif

I will phone a local tyre dealer tomorrow anyway, so I'll ask about the Toyo as well.

Thanx 4 your reply! cool.gif

[ QUOTE ]

Shouldnt they be a z mark for a chipped S8????

[/ QUOTE ]