S8 on eBay

cruiser647

[ QUOTE ]

What was wrong with it?

[/ QUOTE ]

I am no expert in car inspections, so I would stress that these opinions are only my individual observations.

The company has had this car for some months. I saw it in April. I didn't drive it, merely looked it over and started the engine. It appeared to me to have had paint respray on several panels. Several pieces of interior trim were loose or in the case of the centre armrest assembly missing entirely. The engine sounded rough (it was several weeks ago, so I can't remember exactly, but I think I noted top end noise) and it sounded like the exhaust manifold was blowing.

There were enough concerns there to make me walk away.

[ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]

It's an R reg with 100,000 miles though, and people don't buy an S8 to drive round at 20mph in...!

[/ QUOTE ]

Sorry, xc90, you've lost me there.

[/ QUOTE ]

I just mean that the faults you've highlighted seem fairly consistent with a car of that age and mileage, it's hardly going to be pristine condition. People buy a car like that to hammer, so it's bound to be tatty and "well used".

[ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]

It's an R reg with 100,000 miles though, and people don't buy an S8 to drive round at 20mph in...!

[/ QUOTE ]

Sorry, xc90, you've lost me there.

[/ QUOTE ]

I just mean that the faults you've highlighted seem fairly consistent with a car of that age and mileage, it's hardly going to be pristine condition. People buy a car like that to hammer, so it's bound to be tatty and "well used".

[/ QUOTE ]

Sorry xc, don't agree with this comment at all. S8's are not your gti or turbo hatchback, so generally aren't purchased by people wanting to hammer them. My car has now done 135k, and I think it's in pretty good nick 169144-ok.gif