Tyre Question

djcool

When do you replace the tyres on your car? UHOH7.GIF

My front set need replacing soon, they've got ~3.0-3.5mm remaining tread. I've already bought their replacements (2x Conti SportContact 2) but not sure if I should get them done now or wait til my current PS2's are worn down to the tread indicators.

In about 6 weeks I'm off to the south of France with a mate, which will work out about 2000 miles round trip. I am then back for a week, before I'm going back down there, this time trying to keep up with a couple of performance cars. I reckon I'll cover 1000 miles between now and then.

Do I..

a) replace the tyres now?

b) replace tyres before 1st trip to france (within the next 1000 miles)

c) replace tyres before 2nd trip to france (squeeze 3000 miles out of the remaining ~2.0mm left)

Currently thinking C to get the best life out of them (I'm a tight diesel driver Flush.gif ).

Squeeze 3000 miles out of 2mm?

Keeping up with performance cars is one thing but surely most of that will be on the motorway and tyre wear will be minimal?

You could always do the first run and then see how much you have left if you're going to be driving that hard.

Legal depth is 1.6mm but I usually change when it gets to about 2-2.5mm. When it comes to shifting water, which is the whole point of tread, you lose so much capacity in that area when you get down to 2.5mm I don't think its worth it running them to the legal limit - not in Scotland anyway where rain is a regular featue

169144-ok.gif

[ QUOTE ]

Legal depth is 1.6mm but I usually change when it gets to about 2-2.5mm. When it comes to shifting water, which is the whole point of tread, you lose so much capacity in that area when you get down to 2.5mm I don't think its worth it running them to the legal limit - not in Scotland anyway where rain is a regular featue

169144-ok.gif

[/ QUOTE ]