Where to find cheap flights.

Rustynuts

Right peoples, the daughter and her boyfriend have decided to go to Greece to stay with my sister in law (who lives out there) so they need a return flight for a weeks stay near Athens. I've no experience in booking flights, so I've spent the last couple of hours trawling the web trying to find somewhere which will tell me what I need to know. No luck.

Everything I've come across points to "Tell us where you want to fly from, fly to, when you want to go etc." and when you've filled in all the details, it then tells you no-one flies from Teesside Airport to Athens so try another departure point. Is there anywhere which tells me who flies to Athens, which airports you can fly from, or best of all would be somewhere I can put in "Athens" with an open timetable and it'll tell me when flights are available, from where, and how much. There's not much pressure on having to go on a specific day as they have accomodation sorted, and just need to get there, so any departure dates within the next couple of weeks will be fine.

Help me out with this one, cos it's doing my head in. I thought t'internet was supposed to be easier for you.

Athens is not a busy route network from the UK I am afraid. BA and Olympic fly from Heathrow to Athens but no one else. If you select direct flights that might limit the choice you have.

What about Manchester to Athens or is that too far a drive?

Depending on dates you can fly Manchester to Athens with Olympic for approx £280pp (based flying 14-21 Aug.

Thomas Cook website - you can fly from Teeside to Heathrow with BMI then onto Athens with Olympic all for the price of approx £453pp

You can also fly Durham Tees Valley via Amsterdam to Athens with KLM but again this is not cheap.

ncr666

@DHA:

Manchester is better than London, as it's only about 1 1/2 hours from us. I was getting the impression that Athens wasn't an easy place to get to, and it was going to be expensive.

@ncr666: