Passat PD130

tobyho

Hello Tyresmoke people, I'm considering a Passat TDI, preferably a 115 or 130 Bhp one. I've seen a "130" on a T reg, is this possible? Does anyone know when it was introduced? Also. if you've got one, what are they like and anything I should look out for..

Thanks a lot for any help,

Tobe

hello im not a expert but i think the 130 bhp engine came in on a 2001 when the shape changed there is also a 100bhp.

the 115bhp was available before the shape change in 2001 also there was a 110 bhp.so i think it depends wat you want pre 2001 or the facelift 2001 on?

i went for a 2002 estate 130bptdi and it was my first passat all i can say is im well chuffed its well smooth and comfy,and there is a good deal of power with good mpg.

i did not want to consider the 100bhp due to possible underpowering you may find more £££ for the 130bhp.

i went for the se it just gives you that bit more spec from a s and there is also a sport which gives you 6 speed box and lowered suspention and some alloy trim inside the cockpit,i did not fancy the sport due to possible hard ride being that i wanted a comfy family ride.

hope this helps.

Thanks,Gypsyboy, I suspected it was too early for a 130, reckon he's just confused by the red DI. Yeah, I'd love a later facelift one but can't really afford it and am hoping the 115 will do the trick, not sure if that generation is a PD engine.

Good advice, I'll look for an SE.

Thanks T

gypsyboy is correct. The 130bhp engine was introduced in the facelifted car, which starts from a 2001 'Y' plate. The 115bhp engine in the pre-facelifted car has pretty much the same torque as the 130, so the performance difference is fairly small (I've had both). I can't remember whether it was this way from the start, but I'm fairly sure the 130bhp engine in the SE had slightly less torque than in the Sport.

I'd also recommend that you stretch yourself to a 115 or a 130 over the 90 or 100 bhp engine.