[Audi A3/S3] 8L S3 fitting a Samco air induction pipe

safety69

I think I have the collapsing hose syndrome on my 8L S3 running Revo and on a visual inspection the section which connects onto the turbo seems very weak.

I would like to fit a Samco pipe rather than the OEM already fitted but it looks to be quite difficult as a DIY job. Has anyone managed to do this themselves and how difficult is it?

Please make your own decision as to your abilities and do so at your own risk, all info given in good faith.

Been there, and had the scrapes and bruises to prove it!

http://www.tyresmoke.net/forum/audi-a3-s3-cabrio/24729-uprated-hoses-s3-large-pics-warning.html

It will be a good hour or mores work dependant on how handy you are with tools.

It can be an awquard job, but most of that will be removing the old audi pipe fixings, and getting the old pipe off the turbo, the rest is plain sailing, like for like swap. (However, please bear in mind, that i am a maintenance engineer, so working on equipment for me is not an issue, and i have the tools to do so. )

There are a few things you will need to prepare before you start.

1. Confirm you have the right TIP pipe. (Turbo intake pipe) There are two versions, one for ESP one without. Simplest way is count the outlets, and compare to yours.

2. Make sure you have all the right size jubilee clips to replace every connection, as the Audi clips are one use, and will be destroyed in taking the old hose off.

3.Tools. you will need a couple of screwdrivers, electrical snips, pliars, and I recommend a small 1/4 drive socket set, a small mirror can be handy too.

4.Make sure the engine is stone cold, the turbo will retain its heat for hours, and easily burn you otherwise.

5. GOLDEN RULE. DO NOT ALLOW ANYTHING TO DROP INTO YOUR TURBO THROUGH OPEN/EXPOSED PIPEWORK! TAKE YOUR TIME AND THINK THINGS AHEAD.