S8 spec & tech info needed

showtime

hi guys

new to the forum but veteran of a few others (mainly hobby related) and also soon to be an S8 owner 169144-ok.gif

left a deposit yesterday & should pick it up next weekend jump.gif

what i was after is some tech info on the car, specs etc

i heard the centre diff was a Torsen type but haven't found anything to back this up etc

that kind of thing

i've been in the trade for 22 years now so am fairly technically proficient, i'm just new to Audis despite admiring them from afar for a while

looking forward to spending time in my car & on here also

any help gratefully recieved

thanks in advance

Adam

'98 Audi S8 169144-ok.gif

[ QUOTE ]

soon to be an S8 owner 169144-ok.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

Hi Adam,

You've heard right, the S8 does have a Torsen centre differential providing a mechanical 50/50 front/rear torque split, somebody will correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it's a T2 type Torsen. The Torsen-based quattro system also provides a left/right torque split on each axle by using the ABS sensors to brake a spinning wheel on an axle, so the torque is transferred to the other side, although this only operates up to a certain speed.

I don't know what other tech specs you're after, fire specific questions and somebody will have an answer.

Oh, and a stock forum response: go visit PaulW's audipages.com for lots of A/S8 techie info.

sweet, thanks for your reply, i'll check out the link you sent me 169144-ok.gif

we use Torsen diffs in our RC cars too & under some conditions they are the business, we get usually the best results from them using Torsens in the front only!

i've got a couple of links to sites explaining diffs incase anybody else was interested?

TORSEN

VARILOCK

and a more explanatory site about all types HERE

plenty of reading for us all there 169144-ok.gif