Mk 4 Golf Suspension- advice needed from a newbie!

AllanBrownie

hi guys i am new to this Golf lark, having previously been a Pug nut (230bhp 205 Mi16) and then owned an M3 Evo for 3 years before getting banned. I'm back with a Mk4 Golf GTI 1.8 Turbo. Its a great solid car but needs more poke, hence i'm going for the APR chip to get up near 200bhp hopefully.

Anyway, my problem is with the Eibach springs i have just fitted. I have 19" wheels fitted with 215/35 Toyo's. Gap was too big between arch and tyre so went for Eibach Pro Kit springs, "up to 40mm lower" they said plus i had to be careful with having bigger wheels? Anyway, fitted them last night and there's still a gap! frown.gif yes they still need to bed in and may drop further slightly but still, expected a slam look! Can i go lower i.e. Sportline kit or can u recommend any other springs?? I was surprised, went to pick car up and i was like eh have you actually fitted the springs?! It DOES handle better but just expected a noticable visual difference, i want it lower!! Will i get driveshaft problems though? I've seen plenty Golfs looking lower than mine!!

Thanks for any advice - very much appreciated!

Other planned mods are : APR chip/induction kit/Milltek exhaust for hopefully the guts of 200bhp. 312mm Tarox front discs/pads. Medium tinted windows ... and then try and leave it alone smile.gif <font color="black"> </font>

Welcome to Tyresmoke Allan 169144-ok.gif

Are you after a "slammed" look to the car, or do you want to improve the handling? Generally, you can't have both.

I run the fully height, damp and rebound adjustable KW Variant 3 kit, which lets you drop the car by up to 30mm, but this compromises the handling too much - it sits 15mm lower than stock at the front and 20mm lower than stock at the rear.

£1000 for the kit from www.bigboyztoys.co.uk in Thurrock in Essex.

HTH

beerchug.gif