Advice on buying a SLR camera

Hector-8

I looking into the idea of doing some sports photography just as a hobbie and maybe in the future try and get some work out of it.Was basically just looking some advice on a good SLR camera and lens.

The type of sport i would be looking to catch would require me to have a decent zoom as i wouldn't be too close to the action.(local motorsport generally)

I know i probably sound like an absolute beginner but thats because i am.Everyone has to start somewere.I am also looking to start a photography course in the local college when it starts in september time.

All advice welcome!

Thanks

A lot of people will recommend the Canon 400D - a great camera - I bought the slightly cheaper Nikon D40 - the main reason for this was that it takes SD card instead of compact flash and I already had a high volume of SD cards 169144-ok.gif

The majority of "kit" lenses are 18-55mm and therefore wont be the greatest for capturing sports - I now have a 55-200mm and its good, but with photography you can just keep spending crazy.gif there is no limit to the kit you want to buy grin.gif169144-ok.gif

[ QUOTE ]

The majority of "kit" lenses are 18-55mm and therefore wont be the greatest for capturing sports - I now have a 55-200mm and ita good, but with photography you can just keep spending crazy.gif there is no limit to the kit you want to buy grin.gif169144-ok.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

One reason I am resisting buying an SLR!

The 400D is a good camera i would avoid the current Nikon range as i don't fee they are any where near as good as the canons.

The 5D is a fantastic canon as an all rounder it will be hard to beat.

The 1D MkIII is the camera of choice for most sports guys as its burst rate is so high, i feel this maybe out of your price range at the moment.

As a pro tog for 12 years i hope i can help you out just PM me if you want more info!

not being one to start a brand war, if sports is your game, then the big two are where you should look.