Skiing for the complete novice

lottiefox

OK, I've made it to a far old advanced age and have never been skiing..... smashfreakB.gif

A friend of mine is keen to go next Feb/March and I think it might be a bit of a fun. 169144-ok.gif

They are a pretty good skier and I am going to be left on the learning slopes falling over, which I don't mind. BUT, I want a place where there is a) good scope for beginners and likely to be other people falling over all the time b) plenty of other stuff to do as well as skiing in case I hate it. Any suggestions? I want a nice place to stay in as well, I like creature comforts. grin.gif

My other concern is that my knees are not the strongest bit of me. frown.gif One of my kneecaps grinds and I avoid things like running bacause they hurt afterwards. I will probably check this out with the doc (did see him years ago about this and he recommended some operation but said it wasn't essential) but am I likely to be doomed if I try skiing? How hard is it on the knees? Would I benefit from knee supports and/or trying it out on a dry ski slope first? confused.gif

Thanks all. beerchug.gif

Lottie

I guess you're looking at Europe not the States. The States is actually a very good place to learn but a long way to go to find you don't like Skiiing.

I would try to go to quite a high resort in the Alps. The problem with most resorts is that the beginning slopes are usually at the bottom of the mountain (as you would expect) but can suffer from a lack of snow as a result.

I find knee braces essential but make sure you get a good set. You don't need to spend a fortune but the brace needs to able to restrict lateral side-to-side movement to be effective.

Try and get used to wearing boots and skis before you go and learn how to get up once you've fallen down. Can be very tricky and awkward. Knowing how to get you skis off after falling can be invaluable 169144-ok.gif

And always get some lessons from a ski school wink.gif

Good Luck grin.gif