Coilovers installed

NeilScarrott

At long last I have completed the coilover install, I thought I'd share a handful of photos of the results. This has been something I have always wanted to do, indeed I have been talking about this for nearly two years!

The install was torture in parts, but the results are worth it beerchug.gif

A full technical writeup will follow, I'll pop it in the technical section beerchug.gif

Some befores...

DWCoiloversFinishedBefore1.jpg

DWCoiloversFinishedBefore2.jpg

DWCoiloversFinishedBefore3.jpg

Some during...

DWCoiloversFinishedDuring1.jpg

DWCoiloversFinishedDuring2.jpg

DWCoiloversFinishedDuring3.jpg

Some afters... (needs a clean, but that will have to wait!)

DWCoiloversFinishedAfter1.jpg

DWCoiloversFinishedAfter2.jpg

DWCoiloversFinishedAfter3.jpg

DWCoiloversFinishedAfter4.jpg

I'd really like to make the same change on my B7 2.0T FSI SE.

Couple of questions ... (I'm not a spanner user, so apologies for daft questions..)

Which coilovers did you buy?

Where can I get same from?

(I've found this...

These say 'street comfort and drop 40mm for a B7 saloon)

http://www.europerformance.co.uk/pages/products/product_info.mhtml?id=428721

Why did you choose coilovers instead of just lower springs?

Do you know anyone in the M25 J18 area who can fit these?

Can you tell me the drop in ride height you got?

Sorry for all the questions .. so much to learn.

Great looking car ...

Here's a link to my car's ride height problem! ...

(Yes they are 18" wheels , and yes they do look a bit lost!)

Image019.jpg

Image018.jpg

that looks much better Neil!

I'm tempted to drop mine 30-40mm (from s-line suspension) but at the rate i'm going i'll be swapping it again soon (too many miles)

will ponder. I'm not an expert on these things, but why coilovers rather than just lower springs?

[ QUOTE ]