Mook

World Record Jump Attempt in a Mini(!) Goes Wrong

26 posts in this topic

French rally driver Guerlain Chicherit is a very lucky man. He had hoped to beat Tanner Foust's 332-feet car jump record (which nearly went awry itself) with a 360-foot leap in a specially built Mini to score a new Guinness World Record at the French ski resort of Tignes. However, things didn't go to plan, and Chicherit suffered a massive crash during the attempt.

He wasn't badly injured.

Ooops  :blink:

Someone didn't do their maths correctly.

Lucky man. Bit too much speed.

Did he break the world record for somersaults?

oh, James May would have worked out the proper take off speed. :coffee:

Edited by cruiser647

ooh - i thought the discarded body work was a human body to start with! 

Ooch, lost balance just as he was landing, should have kept on the throttle to keep the nose up.

Not that i'm an expert of course, just my opinion.

Top Gear would have just built a bridge over that gap.

Well, it wasn't just a question of losing balance when he landed. The whole angle & height of the landing ramp was wrong, the car had tipped forward too much by the time it landed so touched down nose first rather than wheels first. Instant cartwheel.

He needs a better balanced car, I think... Less nose-heavy.

Top Gear would have just built a bridge over that gap.

But it would have taken them a week :coffee:

...with hilarious mishaps :coffee:

Tipex - how would keeping on the throttle help? I'm not baiting you BTW, genuinely can't see how it would help with the wheels spinning faster in mid-air so I must be missing something.

I don't know the physics behind it, i'm sure someone will be able to explain it better than me, but it's to do with rotational forces I believe.