Is this really true ??

Chick

from an email sent to me today :

WHO KNEW THIS???

I have been driving for over 50 years. I would think I should have noticed the little secret on my dashboard that was

staring me inthe face the whole time . . .

I didn't . . .

and I bet you didn't either . . .

Have you ever rented or borrowed a car and when arriving at the petrol station wondered . . . hmmm, which side is the petrol filler cap?

My normal solution was to stick my head out the window, strain my neck and look, try to see in the side mirrors or even get out of the car!!!!

Well ladies and gentlemen, I'm going to share with you my little secret so you will no longer look like Ace Ventura on your way to the petrol station or put your neck at risk of discomfort or injury .

If you look at your petrol gauge, you will see a small icon of a petrol pump.

The handle of the petrol pump will extend out on either the left or right side of the petrol pump.

If your tank is on the left, the handle will be on the left. If your tank is on the right, the handle will be on the right (see photo).

It is that simple!

post-18176-137914430542_thumb.jpg

Edited by just_chick
old age suggestions

Most modern Fords have a little arrow pointing to which side the cap is. Never stops me from forgetting I'm in a rental and getting it wrong though :rolleyes:

Anyone else notice that 'traditional' car Radios are the only car part never adapted from LHD to RHD ? The main button (on/off/volume) on most cars is on the left, nearest to the driver for a LHD car (and in the logical place of course), but a stretch for RHD cars. I have been stuck in too many traffic jams I guess....

Two things to point out:-

1) I don't let the gauge get that low

2) The pump lead can stretch over the boot/hatch/avant body styles without a problem.

I have a saloon and A6 Avant - either side of a pump is not an issue! :roflmao:

1) I don't like getting past quarter of tank either !!